Although this all took place during high school, I thought it would be useful to share my experiences in the robotics club which I founded my junior year. It was truly a challenge first organizing the team, learning all the tools and tricks needed to compete, and finally competing. Here are a couple pictures of our robot in different stages of completion:

Robot1

This was us at the very start of the season. The first step is always the hardest, and that proved true given how long it took to simply get our robot to move!

15 - 2.jpg

In the end, although everybody had a specialized role, with me in particular working on programming and design, with such a tight-knit team everybody had the chance to make a contribution in all aspects of the project. This is a picture of our lift system, built with pulleys and fishing line.

image.jpg

And the moment we all worked so hard for, actually being in a position to compete head-to-head with other teams. We did pretty well our first season, getting some recognition as a particularly successful rookie team. I sure hope the program continues to prosper long after I’ve graduated, since it’s programs like these that help students discover a passion for engineering.

